Wetsuit Test

Well It was going to be sooner or later that I had to get back into open water and try out my recently purchase ‘MyWetsuit’ wetsuit… for My Triathlon from MyTriathlon

The first thing to mention is the fact that it goes on as easily as the more expensive Zone3 Suit I used in Southport. i.e. Not-very.

Well that’s an exaggeration, it’s not that bad, It still needs to be worked up the legs and arms to get enough material into the places you need (crotch, hips and shoulders)  and I can even do the zip up on my own!

 

Into the Water!

As I tentatively stepped into the 18° water at Boundary Park’s “uSwim” event the first thing that got me was the temperature difference between my feet (exposed) and my calves (in the suit) everything in the suit was toasty warm and as I lowered my self into the water I was pleased to feel the buoyancy of the 5mm Neoprene support my ample mass slightly…. then came the trickle.

Down my back I could feel water coming in through the zip – lovely. Then I felt it coming in through the ankles, then the wrists. Neither the wrist or the ankle have a discernible cuff, as the suit started to get less buoyant I Started to panic, and 250m in, I panicked and called the rescue boat over.

Back on dry land I emptied a spoonful or so of water out of the suit. “that’s what happens” said a voice next to me ” you panicked didn’t you?!”  followed up the mysterious stranger. I agreed and said that I didn’t remember the water coming in the last (only) time I’d done OW swimming. “yeah, you can fold the cuffs inward if you want a placebo, but its going to happen – you’ll get used to it”

At that exact moment I needed a Placebo!! so I did fold the cuff on my ankles and wrist inward to create a bit more compression.

I went back down to the water and got in…  and set off… in breast stroke.  the water came in through my back again but the arms and legs seemed better.  It was only when I broke into Front crawl again ( about 50m in) that water start coming in again. But this time I knew it was supposed to happen and I just kept on going.

My legs felt buoyant, my torso felt warm and I just kept swimming. The Suit is fine, as I swam on it didn’t fill up more  and more, it just kept me warm and allowed me to swim unrestricted.

Verdict:

Great suit, I just need to take a teaspoon of concrete and toughen the f*** up!

 

On a side note My swim fitness is still shocking. but I’m going to start going to the Ecclestone Mere OW sessions every monday to help build not just my confidence but my fitness. Another plus point is the fact that this is the St Helens Tri swim venue, so I’ll get used to the mere its self, its weeds, water entry and exit – everything.
Another thing that became clear was my dizziness I. The first transition was back. Seeing how I’m going to be swimming for a lot longer my body is going to take a bit more time to get used to the change in altitude! I’ve also bought £2.99 worth of ear plugs in case it is a balance/inner ear thing.

Leave a comment